Monday, April 16, 2012

David Byron - Take No Prisoners Repost

Take No Prisoners

Recorded February 1975
Morgan and Roundhouse Studios
London, England
Mixed at the Roundhouse Studios
Initial release March, 1975

This 1975 album was the first solo outing for David Byron, the lead singer for Uriah Heep. It isn't a big surprise that a good portion of the album sounds a lot like the group that gave him his day job: sturdy organ-driven hard-rockers like "Silver White Man" and "Hit Me With a White One" would not be out of place on a typical Uriah Heep album from this period. The fact that every then-current member of Uriah Heep makes at least one appearance on this record further aids this déjà vu feeling. What is surprising about Take No Prisoners is how solid and consistent it is for a between-albums solo venture. The album begins powerfully with "Man Full of Yesterdays," a mid-tempo rocker with a moody, dramatic arrangement that blends an emotional Mellotron-driven sound with autobiographical lyrics. From there, Byron deftly blends his Heep-styled rockers with a variety of roots rock and soul experiments that blend in well with the other, more traditional material: "Steamin' Along" tackles funk with surprising deftness while "Saturday Night" adds a likable country-rock element to its amped-up rock & roll attack. "Love Song" proves that Byron could do a straight ballad with surprising sensitivity and further benefits from a lovely arrangement built on a gentle harpsichord sound. Plenty of sharp rockers are interspersed between these experimental tracks, the best being "Midnight Flyer," a cleverly arranged rocker that alternates spooky, mid-tempo verses with a scorching chorus to create an exciting burst of hard rock. Overall, Take No Prisoners lacks a breakout single or the kind of genre-expanding elements that will win over the casual listener, but it is a well-crafted album that will definitely find favor with Uriah Heep fans. ~ Donald A. Guarisco, All Music Guide

Original album credits:
David Byron: Voice
Mick Box: Guitars
Lou Stonebridge: Keyboards
Denny Ball: Bass
Lee Kerslake: Drums

Other Credits:
Drums: Pete Thompson
Backing vocals: Chanter Sisters, Martha Smith, Neil Lanchaster, Chas Mills and Russ Stone.
Acoustic Guitar: Ken Hensley
Mellotron: John Wetton

Produced by: Peter Gallen and David Byron
Engineer: Ashley Howe
Assistant Engineers: Dave Harris (at Morgan), Trevor Hallesy & John Gallen (at Roundhouse)
Equipment: Dell Roll, Pete Gibbs
Refreshment: Marcus Rose, Moet & Chandon, Remy Martin & Newcastle Brown
©1975 Bronze Records Ltd.

Track Listing:
Side A:
1. Man Full Of Yesterdays (Byron / Box / Stonebridge) 5:36
2. Sweet Rock N' Roll (Stonebridge / McGuinness) 2:49
3. Steamin' Along (Byron / Box / Ball / Thompson / Stonebridge) 5:09
4. Silver White Man (Byron) 3:29
5. Love Song (Byron / Box / Kerslake / Stonebridge) 2:56

Side B:
1. Midnight Flyer (Stonebridge / McGuinness) 5:55
2. Saturday Night (Stonebridge) 2:16
3. Roller Coaster (Byron / Box / Ball / Kerslake / Stonebridge) 3:58
4. Stop (Think What You're Doing) (Byron / Stonebridge / McGuinness) 4:16
5. Hit Me With A White One (Byron / Box / Stonebridge) 3:53

US Cover



  1. Could you please let me know about the link to free download of David Byron latest CD with collection of old songs in memory to the Anniversary of his death?

    Please send info at:


  2. Excellent work a true heep connoissuer


Please feel free to leave any comments about this blog