Friday, January 15, 2010

John Lawton Band - Sting In The tale

Discontinued CD from 2003

A Brit by birth, John Lawton moved to Hamburg, Germany, when he was with a band called Stone Wall. He stayed there when the band moved on, feeling that this might be the place to get his break. He didn't have to wait long as Lucifer's Friend got in touch with him to have him work with them. He recorded their debut release, Lucifer's Friend, with them. His next group was Les Humphries Singers. He managed to do both of these bands concurrently, as Lucifer's Friend was only a studio group.

He continued on doing this double duty until 1976 when he became the new singer for Uriah Heep. He remained with the group for the next three years, leaving to pursue a solo career. However, his album did not light up the charts and Lawton found himself back performing both with Les Humphries Singers and Lucifer's Friend. He also formed a band called Gun Hill and kept himself busy performing with all three of those groups. ~ Gary Hill, All Music Guide

The Band

John Lawton  Vocals, Acoustic Guitar
Steve Dunning  Bass, Guitar, Acoustic Guitar, Backing Vocals
Erol Sora Guitar, Acoustic Guitar, Backing Vocals
Leon Lawson Keyboards, Acoustic Guitar, Backing Vocals
Benjy Reid  Drums,Percussion

This is the powerful 2003 studio album from the John Lawton Band. Sting In The Tale marks a return to the heavy rock sound that brought John to worldwide fame. Think Whitesnake meets Uriah Heep with added punch and you're almost there.

1. Take You High
2. Give It Up
3. Written on the Wall
4. Reach Out
5. Firing Line
6. Lately
7. I'll Be Here
8. King Con
9. Tracks of Time
10. Angels They Cry
11. Slamming It Down
12. Dog House



  1. i haven't heard this cd yet but lawton as a world class singer, so i'm sure it must be great..

    thanks for the post

  2. The link is gone


Please feel free to leave any comments about this blog