Wednesday, February 24, 2010

Moonstone Project - Rebel On The Run

Classic rock is on the rise & Italy's Moonstone Project is leading the resurgence! This isn't the same tired play list you've heard on AOR radio every day for the past 30 years, but a new breed of music that eschews the trappings of cold modern production in favor of the groovy retro vibes of arena rock's glory days. No one recaptures this throwback sentiment with more aplomb than Moonstone Project; not surprising considering the cast of characters maestro Matt Filippini has summoned to his circle. A widely respected touring & studio guitarist of the highest order, Matt has provided his exciting six string work for legends like Blue Oyster Cult, Glenn Hughes and Ian Paice amongst many others. Moonstone Project, however, is his master creation. More than simply a nostalgia act, this collective has created fiery original songs for the next generation, steeped authentically in the fine tradition of bluesy British 70s rock ala Deep Purple, Rainbow, Uriah Heep, Zeppelin & Bad Company. What sets Filippini's group apart from the hordes of shaggy, bell-bottomed trendies coming to the surface in recent times is the players he employs are the very same legends who created the scene in the first place! Much like the Wizards Convention & Butterfly Ball collaboratives of the '70s, Moonstone Project manages to assemble the talents of protometal gods: Ian Paice (Deep Purple, Whitesnake....), Eric Bloom (Blue Oyster Cult), Steve Walsh (Kansas), Glenn Hughes (Trapeze, Deep Purple, Black Sabbath), Graham Bonnet (Rainbow, Alcatrazz, Michael Shenker Group), Kelly Keeling (Michael Shenker Group, Dokken), James Christian (House Of Lords), Tony Franklin (Firm, Whitesnake, Blue Murder), Carmine Appice (Vanilla Fudge, Blue Murder, King Cobra, Rod Stewart), Paul Shortino (Rough Cutt, Quiet Riot). Unlike the aforementioned '70s compilations however, this venture is not a cash-in collection of cut outs & b-sides, but a living, breathing entity that harnesses the spark in each of these legends and focusses the power into a fresh set of songs that sound both familiar & new upon first listen. While the first MP album was released in 2006 as Time To Take A Stand it was rereleased in 2008, retitled Hidden In Time with new artwork & 3 bonus tracks. As satisfying as this accomplishment was, Matt was seeking more of a unified band feel for his sophomore offering. To accomplish this, he set in place a core group of musicians to anchor each song and provide consistency throughout the opus. There would still be some spectacular guest stars such as Ian Paice, Clive Bunker (Jethro Tull), Ken Hensley (Uriah Heep) & Robin Beck - but this time as visiting satellite performers to enhance what has now become a full fledged band. Moonstone Project, Mach II now prepares to launch: Rebel On The Run! Rebel features the amazing voice of James Christian on all but one track. That 11th track happens to be "Closer Than You Think," a soulful original written & performed by the voice of rock himself, Mr. Glenn Hughes. On the spontaneous creation of the Hughes cut, Moonstone founder/guitarist Matt Filippini recalls, "Closer Than You Think is a beautiful gift from Glenn. He wrote that magical piece while I was at his house in LA.. We were watching TV in his living room & suddenly he ran into his studio, picked up his guitar & 5 minutes later the song was born!" This vibe of immediate cosmic generation permeates the album, though with 2 years of blood sweat & tears in the production, no detail was left unpolished on this labour of love. The masterminds behind the ambitious operation are guitarist Matt Filippini & his co-writing / producing studio wizard keyboardist, Alessandro Del Vecchio. The music is solidified by the powerful Moonstone bassist Nik Mazzucconi, UDO drummer Francesco Jovino, live drummer, Alex Mori & backing singer Roberto Tiranti (Labyrinth). With concerts to support the album already underway starring Glenn Hughes as well as a festival & fall tour featuring former Rainbow / Yngwie Malmsteen crooner Doogie White, traditional classic rock fans throughout the world are in for a treat, both on their stereos & in concert halls this year from the non-traditional supergroup
The Tracks
1. Sinner Sinner
2. Moonster Booster 5
3. Cosmic Blues
4. From Another Time
5. Rebel On The Run
6. Closer Than You Think
7. Hey Mama
8. Shooting Star
9. Madman
10. Halfway To Heaven
Do yourself a favour, in these difficult times when money is scarce, get yoursel a copy of this Album you will not be disappointed. It's guaranteed to bring a smile to your face

The "Classic Rock Genre" is alive and kicking it just doesn't get much better than this

No comments:

Post a Comment

Please feel free to leave any comments about this blog