Sunday, March 29, 2009

Asterix -S/T

Asterix was a direct predecessor of Lucifer's Friend , and released a self-titled album in 1970. There also was one single with a slightly different lineup, i.e. without Lawton. Which is included as bonus material on this release

From an original post on ChrisGoesRock which sadly no longer seems to exist anymore

Size: 81.1 MB
Bitrade: 256
Ripped By: ChrisGoesRock
Artwork Included

Asterix was a direct predecessor of Lucifer's Friend; released one (eponymous) album in 1970. Technically, this was the first Lucifer's Friend album,
only under a different name. Also, one single was released featuring a slightly altered line-up, without John's involvement.

Peter Hesslein began his musical career way back in 1963 with a band called the Giants. Peter Hecht and Dieter Horns were both members of a group known as
the German Bonds, from 1965 onwards. Peter Hesslein joined the Bonds in 1968 which survived until 1970. At this point the various members took up the
study of graphic design in an attempt to forge more sensible careers.

But the call of rock’n’roll was too strong and in late 1970, the ex-Bonds men, together with Joachim Reitenbach , decided to record a new album.
They needed a lead singer and eventually found John Lawton who had been with the group Stonewall.

The new band took the name Lucifer's Friend and released their first album 'Asterix' in 1970. Their first three albums were undeniably influenced by
contemporary British bands such as Uriah Heep and Deep Purple. 'Lucifer's Friend' was released on the Phillips label in January 1971 followed
by 'Where The Groupies Killed The Blues' (1972). Lucifer's Friend' was given rave reviews particularly in America where the Chicago Express compared
them to Led Zeppelin. This encouraged the five-piece to commence a heavy touring schedule, a policy which later backfired. Gradually their music had
become a shade more sophisticated and serious jazz and symphonic influences were detected by critics and fans. This was no doubt due to the increasing
importance of 'progressive rock' which seemed to appeal to college students and university audiences rather more than good old heavy metal. It was also
more interesting for musicians to play and presented them with new challenges.

Track List

01. Everybody (Bonus Single)
02. If I Could Fly (Bonus Single)
03. Look Out
04. Gone From My Life
05. Broken Home
06. Time Again
07. Jump Into My Action
08. Open Up Your Mind
09. Corner Street Girl
10. Chance In You
11. Morning At My Dawn


No comments:

Post a Comment

Please feel free to leave any comments about this blog