Thursday, May 21, 2009

Grand Prix - The First Album

Rising out of the New Wave of British Heavy Metal scene in the late '70s, Grand Prix featured a more melodic approach to heavy metal than most of the bands on the British scene, generating an AOR sound closer in feel to American rock groups like Journey. Original members of Grand Prix included ex-Dirty Tricks drummer Andy Beirne, bassist Ralph Hood, keyboardist Phil Lanzon, guitarist Michael O'Donoghue, and ex-Legend singer Bernie Shaw, who was eventually replaced by singer Robin McAuley. The group signed to RCA and released a debut album, simply called Grand Prix, in 1980, followed by the more focused There for None to See in 1982, after which the group jumped to Chrysalis Records for the polished Samurai in 1983. Beirne left Grand Prix later that same year, reportedly because he felt the group's studio output wasn't hard-enough sounding. His drum chair was filled by Clive Edwards, but by early 1984 the group was out of gas and closed the door on a roughly three-year run as a band, leaving behind a small but solid discography.

1 Waiting for the Night Lanzon, O'Donoghue 3:29
2 Day in the Life Lanzon, Lennon, McCartney 4:57
3 Thinking of You Lanzon, O'Donoghue 3:36
4 Mama Sayes Grand Prix 3:52
5 Which Way Did the Wind Blow Lanzon 7:10
6 West Wind Lanzon, O'Donoghue 5:50
7 Next to You O'Donoghue 4:14
8 You Know It Can Be Hood, O'Donoghue 3:40
9 Feel Like I Do O'Donoghue, Shaw 3:31
10 The Very Last Time (Dreamer) O'Donoghue, Powell, Rundgren 4:49

No comments:

Post a Comment

Please feel free to leave any comments about this blog